True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Personality Inventory

I thought this week I would tell you a little bit more about myself as we continue my journey of saying goodbye to Human Resources and hello to writing.

My talents lie in my brain. I can’t cook, I can’t build things, but I can think – really good, too. 🙂 I have a Ph.D. in Industrial/Organizational Psychology (yawn), but I’m not an egghead. I also can’t read your mind (like a lot of psychologists) but I think that would be a really cool super power. I figure since I’m a psychologist who loves science fiction – even the bad stuff – it only makes sense that I declare myself a Psy-Ficologist. As you might guess, I have a lot of time to think.

My family is unconventional. My kids have feathers or four legs, which is why I refer to my home as a petropolis. I live with a parrot, two parakeets, society and zebra finches, and two Italian Greyhounds (miniatures who look like big ones you left in the dryer too long). Oh yeah – Stephen (my husband) lives here too.

Some days I feel like have two personalities.  I’m not quite fully in my new world of writing and I haven’t completely let go of practicing Human Resources. I think that’s partly because I have been successful in Human Resources but I don’t yet have a track record of success in writing.  It takes courage to move into the unknown and I hope by sharing my experience it will help you try something new that you want to do.  Following is a quote that has and continues to inspire me and I hope it will inspire you, too.

“The object in life is first to recognize opportunities and second to act on them. You’ll always be lucky if you keep taking chances. The unlucky don’t grasp opportunities. The lucky do. It’s that simple.”  Ernie Howell, Retired President of St. Regis/WPM

Your IFF,

Pam

What new opportunity would you like to take a chance on and what are you going to do to get there?


Ariel's Search For Intelligent Life

Comments on: "Personality Inventory" (1)

  1. Does Ariel sit on your lap when you write. That is a beautiful dog and beautiful picture!!

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

