True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Fractured Cliché #3

Fractured Cliché: I’m going to throw my name into the ring.

Correct Cliché: I’m going to throw my hat into the ring.

OR

Correct Cliché: I’m going to throw my name into the hat.

When I made this mistake, I almost said I was going to throw my towel into the ring but since I knew I didn’t mean to throw in the towel, I changed it to the fractured cliché shown above.  Words are funny.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

 

Next week in “About Face” I will be talking about the doctor who cured his patients using time travel.

Comments on: "Fractured Cliché #3" (1)

  1. I think I’d rather throw my two cents into the ring. A new hat would cost a lot more.

    Your post also reminded me of an NHL hockey game I recently went to; one of the home team’s players scored a hat trick, and the ice was soon littered with hundreds of hats. Makes me wonder why throwing one’s hat into the rink never made into popular parlance. 🙂

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

