True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Fractured Cliché #17

Correct Cliché: Mind like a steel trap

Fractured Cliché: Mind like a stolen trap

When I worked in business, people described me as having a mind like a steel trap. Once information got in, I never forgot it. Now that I’m in a more creative, artistic type of field I’ve lost some of that. I lose track of time and forget what I was planning to do more often than I care to admit.

Stephen has been forgetful as long as I’ve known him. When I was in graduate school, I had a job where parking was nearly nonexistent so Stephen would pick me up after work. I remember one summer day I was waiting for him outside. I saw him coming and was sure that he saw me. I smiled, waved and walked to the curb to get in the car but he kept driving, didn’t even slow down. I stood there wondering how long it would take him to remember and come back for me, which he did. This happened several times over the course of the summer.

The thing Stephen misplaces the most is his keys. We’ve tried all sorts of things to help him, including a fob that beeps when you clap your hands. The most successful technique he uses is to put his keys in the same place everyday. It usually works. Fortunately, Stephen’s never been prone to lose anything more important than his keys (and me, of course).

That’s certainly a contrast to Scott Atwater. He’s a U.S. Army Special Forces engineer and when he attempted to fly out of an airport in Texas he was charged with trying to board an aircraft with explosives. He was accustomed to carrying at least two blocks of C-4 on military operations and when he packed his bags to leave Texas, he forgot the explosives were there.

I’m a lot like Scott Atwater. I’m forever losing my explosives. Sometimes it makes me so mad I just want to blow something up. It’s probably a good thing I can’t find them.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

Ah, there they are

Comments on: "Fractured Cliché #17" (2)

  1. Mark Turner said:

    Love it. Didn’t know that about Stephen.

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

