True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Fractured Cliché #23

Fractured Cliché:  I slept like a rock

Correct Cliché:  I slept like a log

Fractured Cliché:  Dead as a door knob

Correct Cliché:  Dead as a door nail

The past few months I’ve been experiencing periodic bouts of insomnia. On nights when I lay awake, I think that I’m sleeping like a rock. I don’t think rocks sleep, so it makes sense to say such a thing.

If I’ve had more than one restless night, I move slowly during the day and my thinking is muddled – very much how I picture a door knob to operate. Not totally dead, but close.

I don’t complain though. Being the incurable optimist that I am, I happily accept my sleepless nights because I know that when I get tired enough, I’ll sleep like a log. (Hey – I don’t think logs sleep either.)

Even when the insomnia goes on for a while (like now), it’s nothing to worry about because I know it’ll all work out until the end. Wait, that’s not right is it? (I really need a good night’s sleep.)

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

I tried counting goats to fall asleep but it didn’t work

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

