True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

This Story’s Fur Real

Growing up in the midwest 60 miles south of the Canadian border meant I was accustomed to bitter cold winters. Temperatures could get as extreme as 70 below with the wind.

As a teenager, I wore vintage fur coats purchased in Canada. They were warm and they looked cool. Back then I didn’t give a thought to the morality of wearing real fur.

As I got older and more socially aware, I switched from real fur to synthetic. It still kept me warm and still looked cool.

Some synthetic furs look like the real thing. One of my coats was in a tiger pattern. It looked like an imitation to me, however, not everyone agreed.

I remember being in an elevator with a group of people when a stranger openly criticized me for wearing a fur coat. She thought I was a horrible human being for skinning a tiger, a species she claimed was endangered, so I could wear it on my back – for fashion no less. I stood there, letting her talk.

When she was done speaking, I calmly stated that she was mistaken.  A family of farm-raised polyesters gave their lives for my coat and as far as I knew, they weren’t endangered. After I finished, everyone in the elevator laughed except her. She turned beet read. Not saying a word, she exited at the first available floor. I never saw her again.

I’ve included a picture of the offending coat. It still looks fake to me and to the best of my knowledge, polyesters are still thriving in abundance.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

The coat looks better on me but Earl doesn’t know how to work the camera.

Comments on: "This Story’s Fur Real" (10)

  1. Linda Lewis said:

    I agree, but Earl turned green with envy over your being able to work the camera!

  2. Hilarious. (Reminds me of all those farm raised Naugas that gave up their hydes for couches and purses)

  3. Some people have foot in mouth, I hope it isn’t catching this year.

  4. IT´S A GREAT STORY ! THE PICTURE IS GREAT….!!! IT LOOKS REAL TO ME !!!! I´M GETTING OFF AT THE NEXT STOP!!!!!
    WAYNE

  5. vrherndon@cox.net said:

    It looks more real on him….I miss him.

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

