True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Fractured Cliché #36

Fractured Cliché: Dumber than a box of chocolates

Correct Cliché: Dumber than a box of rocks

When I was growing up, every Valentine’s Day my dad gave my sister and I each a 1 lb heart shaped box of candy along with a 2 lb box for my mom. My dad had a sweet tooth and four pounds of candy ensured more than enough to go around.

At around age 6, I decided that I only wanted to eat the candy I liked. I couldn’t tell which pieces fell into that category so I took a bite out of each to see what was inside. Not wanting anyone to know, I took bites out of the bottom. Of course it was still obvious. My dad, who was normally very easy going at home, was not happy when he looked inside the box.

I was a smart candy (er, cookie), though. The next year I asked for a plastic knife so I could cut each piece open.

These days most boxes have a key that lists what’s inside. If you find a box that doesn’t, now you know what to do.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

cap

The left piece is cut, the right bitten. Imagine an entire box.

Comments on: "Fractured Cliché #36" (4)

  1. Linda Lewis said:

    Another way to insure that you don’t have to share! Ha!

  2. Chocolates in a box are a suprise if you just grab one.
    Lutefisk is never a suprise, Lutefisk is Lutefisk.

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

