True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Disconnected

I rarely answer my cell. By the time I recognize the strange noise emanating from my purse as a ringing phone, it’s too late to pick up. My friends all know this so I don’t get many calls. As a result, when I went to the hospital recently for some tests, I didn’t see a need to turn off my phone.

Upon my arrival, Reception gave me a pager, like in a restaurant, instructing me to return to the desk when the pager went off.

Nervously sitting in the waiting room, I watched people, studied my surroundings, and eventually started reading. Engrossed in my story, I heard this ringing sound. Looking up, I saw a lady reach into her bag – presumably to answer her cell.

Even though the phone kept ringing she ignored it, disrupting my concentration. Before I could give her an evil stare, I looked down on my lap and saw my pager flashing and ringing. The noise wasn’t her, it was me! Chuckling, I returned to Reception. It was time to go.

Relieved when the tests were over, I headed out of the hospital. Walking down the hall, I heard an incessant ringing. I laughed to myself and thought the joke was on someone else. I didn’t have a pager this time so it couldn’t be me.

However, I was surprised when I got home.  There was one missed call on my cell.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

A primitive form of wireless communication

A primitive form of wireless communication

Comments on: "Disconnected" (2)

  1. vrherndon@cox.net said:

    Now you’re sounding as bad as me. the phone can be on my desk jumping around and I still wonder what the noise is. Talk Sunday.

    Vivian

    • I know what you mean. I need a ringtone that says “Hey Pam – this is your cell phone. Answer me. That’s right – you cell. Now stop wasting time and answer me.”

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

