True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Carpe Deity

Hindu followers from India are hailing 12-year-old Arshad Ali as a God because he has a seven inch tail. He’s believed to be the reincarnation of Hanuman, the ape-like Hindu Deity.

Followers leave offerings of gifts, food and money. In turn, the boy offers up blessings.

Ali isn’t the only person who views himself as a god. Josh Marks, a top contender on “MasterChef”, also claims to be divine.

In a recent encounter with the police, after calling Gordon Ramsay an asshole, Marks claims Ramsay possessed his body and transformed him into a god.

If Ramsay turned Marks into a god, what does that make Ramsay? I had no idea he was so powerful. I thought he was only good at cooking and yelling.

Another deity-wannabe is Kanye West. One of the tracks on his new album “Yeezus” (Gesundheit!) is entitled “I Am a God”.

When interviewed about the controversial CD, West said “I made that song because I am a god, I don’t think there’s much more explanation. I’m not going to sit here and defend shit. … I am a god. Now what?”

If I was a god, I wouldn’t wonder what was next because I’d know. Because I was a god.

I wouldn’t swear either because I’d want to set a good example. Because I was a god. Not only that, I wouldn’t want to take my own name in vain.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

Does the tail wag the god? (Photo from juxtapost.com)

Everybody has an opinion. What do you think – does the tail wag the god? (Photo from juxtapost.com)

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

