True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

I’m usually prepared for any contingency.

I have back-ups of food and personal products. When I use the back-up, another takes its place.

The car rarely falls below a half tank of gas. If I have an appointment at a place I’ve never been, I either find it ahead of time or leave early to make sure I’m not late.

A couple of weeks ago, Stephen and I harnessed the dogs for an early morning walk – a warm and sunny day. I brought my camera in case the perfect Kodak moment presented itself.

As we were walking, we spotted a Blue Heron.

I took out my camera, touched the power button, and aimed – nothing. The batteries were exhausted and I didn’t bring extras!

We were both wearing clip on insect repellents, but the batteries from those didn’t work either.

The dogs were whining as if to say “hey – it’s a walk, not a stand“.

The entire time we were fumbling around, the Blue Heron stood politely waiting for his picture to be taken.

Unsuccessful, we stood there and enjoyed the moment. He eventually flew away – a magnificent sight to photographically miss.

Ever the optimist, I was happy that we saw him. We would try again the next morning.

The weather was overcast with light sprinkles but we trekked to the lake anyway. This time I had fresh batteries.

I was ready but the Blue Heron was no where to be found.

As we continued our walk around the lake, it started to sprinkle, then rain, then pour.

We were soaked by the time we got home because we didn’t bring jackets or umbrellas, smelling of defeat and wet dog.

Obviously, I wasn’t prepared. I guess I should have read the Girl Scout training manual.

At least I had fresh batteries, wet but fresh!

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

I finally got him!

I finally got him!

Comments on: "I Should Have Been A Girl Scout" (9)

  1. I love the smell of defeat and wet dog in the morning…

  2. Linda Lewis said:

    Beautiful!!! Good job!

  3. Great shot…

  4. Scoop Jackson..."News 60" said:

    Great story, Pam…thanks for sharing it!

    Scoop

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

