True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Peppermint Pig

Every New Year’s Eve I engage in a ritual designed to bring good fortune in the coming year – the Peppermint Pig.

In Victorian holiday tradition, the pig is a symbol of good health, happiness and prosperity.

Peppermint Pigs were shared among family and friends after a holiday dinner. As each person broke the pig and took a piece, they would recall a story recounting their good fortune from the past year. Sharing the pig and memories foretold prosperity in the coming year.

Because I love my Peppermint Pig so much, I can’t bear to break it. Besides, breaking the pig isn’t such good fortune for the pig so I find an alternative.

Apparently, I’m not the only one who desires to preserve their pig. Saratoga Sweets, maker of the pig, also sell Peppermint Pig Puddles and Peppermint Pig Poop.

Peppermint Pig Puddle

Peppermint Pig Puddle

Peppermint Pig Poop

Peppermint Pig Poop

I’ve never tried either of these alternatives, using candy canes instead.

After placing the Peppermint Pig in a prominent position where everyone can see it, we pass around a candy cane and break off a piece using the hammer meant for the Peppermint Pig.

This year I thought a better alternative might be a chocolate peppermint patty. However, when I tried to break it with the hammer, it only smooshed.

Symbols of good fortune

Symbols of good fortune

We’ll use candy canes again this year but I might try a Peppermint Pig Puddle in the future.

I wish you all good fortune in 2015.

Happy New Year!

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

Comments on: "Peppermint Pig" (2)

  1. Peppermint and bacon. hmmmm I wonder…

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

