True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

The Dammit Doll

I was introduced to the Dammit Doll early in my career. Having just started a new job, I found this ugly little doll being shared among my coworkers. I didn’t understand it, so I watched.

The doll was used to vent frustration – a unique and functional mascot.

Every tenured employee appeared to hold a sacred bond with the doll and when it wasn’t being beaten, it was handled with great care.

Until one day…

One of my coworkers was particularly frustrated. She asked to use the doll and instead of just beating it against the wall, she took its legs and ripped it in half, signaling the end of the Dammit Doll.

I’m pretty easy going so I hadn’t availed myself of the doll’s services. By the time I could have benefited from the catharsis, the Dammit Doll had already been destroyed.

Looking back, I shouldn’t have focused on the Dammit Doll itself, but rather the type of workplace that would need one.

Dammit!

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

Dammit Doll

Dammit Doll

Comments on: "The Dammit Doll" (4)

  1. I think that may be how the game of golf was invented. Hitting a little ball as hard as you can but they were not happy to hit it just once so they hit it again and again and found all the walking to find the ball had become GOLF as we know it today.

  2. Still prefer the Danish Dam Trolls/Uneeda wish-niks of the 60’s – the dolls showed up again in the 90’s. (can’t rip the head off, but that hair was available..or there’s scissors to take care of both?)
    Like you say, grim workplaces are health hazards for employees – RUN

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

