True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

A Soup By Any Other Name

Yesterday I stopped by Panera to grab some lunch with a coupon for a dollar off a bowl of soup. Woo hoo!

I stepped up to the counter and placed my order for a Soba Noodle Broth Bowl, telling the cashier about my coupon. She swiped my Panera card and informed me the coupon was for soup. I promptly reminded her that I had just ordered soup.

Correcting me, she said I had ordered broth. To which I replied – “which is soup”.

She told me the coupon was only good for soup, but she would check to see if I could use it on the broth bowl. The manager was standing behind me so she asked him if I could use the coupon but he didn’t know.

Swiping my card again, she stated the coupon was invalid because I was ordering broth. To which I replied again – “which is soup”.

She made a valiant effort to convince me that the broth was something other than soup.

Cashier – “It comes in a big bowl.”

Me – “Because it’s soup.”

Cashier – “It’s more of a broth.”

Me – “Which is soup.”

Cashier – “It’s a broth with noodles in it.”

Me – “Like soup…because it’s soup.”

A second cashier listened to our entire debate. At the end of the exchange, she started to laugh, looked at me and said “Yeah, it’s soup!”

I thanked the original cashier for checking on the coupon, picked up my soup and left.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

(By the way – Panera, you owe me a dollar.)

Soba Noodle Broth (Not Soup) Bowl

Soba Noodle Broth (Not Soup) Bowl

Credits: Picture from Panera

Comments on: "A Soup By Any Other Name" (2)

  1. potAto or poTAto?
    If it’s in a bowl, and sloshes, and you eat it with a spoon…..
    enjoyed slurping along

    • I gave a lot of credit to the cashier who was politely and persistently defending her company, but you can’t win a losing battle. It was a great exchange – I laughed for most of the day.

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

