True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

The Stuff of Nightmares

It was no surprise when we found our neighbor’s dog in our yard because we share an older back fence that periodically requires repair.

Stephen attempted to retrieve the dog to hand her back while I observed from inside. Afraid of the two-legged stranger, the little creature kept running away.

It all seemed fairly normal until the neighbor handed his son to Stephen.

I thought Stephen had lost his mind. I realized the neighbor was not only giving us his dog, but he was giving his son to us as well…and Stephen was taking him!

Like a bad dream, time stood still. I tried to run but couldn’t move, I tried to scream but no sound came out. Everything started spinning out of control.

Fortunately my panic was short-lived. The kid picked up the dog and handed her back to his dad. Then Stephen did the same with the little boy.

Nightmare averted!

Stephen regularly checks the fence now just in case the neighbor decides to change his mind.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

In hindsight we should have kept the kid. Maybe I could have swapped him for a Lamborghini or big screen tv.

In hindsight we should have kept the kid. Maybe I could have swapped him for a Lamborghini or big screen tv.

Comments on: "The Stuff of Nightmares" (2)

  1. Oh dear, I hope the sun hasn’t played havoc with reason at your house!

  2. Reason surfaced when the neighbors took their kid back even though the “son” stopped shining in our yard. 🙂

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

