True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Breakfast Conversation

In the mornings before work, Stephen usually wolfs down a quick breakfast. There’s been a loaf of soda bread in the fridge for weeks and it’s nearly rock hard, so I bought a fresh loaf to replace it. A couple of days ago, Stephen was eating soda bread and I asked how the new bread tasted. He didn’t know because he was still eating the old loaf. The next morning, he chose to eat old cookies, again bypassing the fresh bread. Here was our conversation.

Pam: Those cookies look stale. You know there’s fresh soda bread in the fridge.

Stephen: I know. The cookies are stale.

Pam: Ah, I get it. You’re waiting for the soda bread to get stale before you eat it. Next time I’ll see if they can sell me a stale loaf so you don’t have to wait.

Stephen: Yeah, funny. These cookies taste terrible.

Pam: Why don’t you eat some of the soda bread? It’s fresh.

Stephen: I’m eating a prepper’s breakfast. When the apocalypse hits the food will be stale and I won’t have to adjust. Besides, I’m already used to the stomach ache.

Today I’ve hidden all the old food and Stephen’s going to have to eat fresh bread or go hungry. I’m a little nervous about it, though. The fresh, good tasting food will probably make him sick.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

IMG_0150

Breakfast of Preppers

Comments on: "Breakfast Conversation" (2)

  1. Hmmm. You have to admit his logic is sound…

    • The fresh food wasn’t a hit so I guess I have to accept his choices. I should see if I can buy everything stale, maybe it will be cheaper.

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

