True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Worker Beware

One of my first interviews for a full-time job was at a company that touted a family atmosphere. The manager described the employees as a tight knit group, emphasizing the importance of hiring someone with the right fit. He proudly declared how his employees tended to do everything together, including sharing dinner – on the company’s dime, of course.

Looking around the building, I noted that although people appeared content, they also seemed tired. Most of the employees described the company as a great place to work – but their boss was sitting at the table when they said it.

When the interviewer asked me if I had children or planned to have children, that they needed someone young and energetic with no family ties to distract from work, I knew the job wasn’t for me. I left the interview and never looked back.

I was reminded of this experience when I saw an article describing a new invention from Studio NL called a nap desk. It has a compartment under the workspace designed for sleeping that can be closed when not in use.

Studio NL nap desk

Studio NL nap desk

The nap desk closes when not in use

The nap desk closes when not in use

Although this invention is innovative in concept and design, I would run from any employer that uses it.

What do you think?

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

Comments on: "Worker Beware" (2)

  1. I’m always wary when the subplot of a Seinfeld episode becomes reality.

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!