True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Carpe Daith

I’m always on the lookout for innovate migraine treatments. Swearing and dead moles didn’t do the trick so my ears perked up when I came across ear piercing, specifically the daith (the inner cartilage section of the ear).

Daith Piercing

I’m daithly afraid of this

Why the daith? Because it runs through a pressure point. I’ve tried a lot of nontraditional things, but I’m hard pressed to let someone poke a hole with a huge needle through one of the most sensitive parts of my ear.

Research is inconclusive as to whether daith piercing helps with migraines. All of the evidence so far is anecdotal. A discussion on Facebook illustrates the controversy. I’ve highlighted the most important sections.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 1.28.11 PM

When I read this, I thought two things. (1) I’m glad someone other than me was being called out for screwing up a phrase (see my list of Fractured Cliches); and (2) The exchange was like watching my dogs being distracted by a squirrel.

My final words on the subject – daith piercing sounds like a bunch of bull crap. (Bunch, that doesn’t sound right. It’s something like that, I’m sure of it. Dang, I need to learn to swear correctly.) I need proof of daith to use this procedure, until then it falls on daith ears.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

 

Comments on: "Carpe Daith" (4)

  1. Sorry you suffer from migraines. People take advantage of others who are in so much pain or so desperate to get healthy they want to believe anything. Lots of that crap with cancer too. I wouldn’t try this daith thing either…and also, ouch!

    • I’ve tried a lot of things but I draw the line at this. I’m totally optimistic so every time I get a headache, I vow it’s the last one. One of these days I’ll be right! 🙂

  2. May the daith be wholly with you. (Migraines are horrendous, but this hole thing creeps me out)

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

