True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Spring Activities

Just because the weather’s getting nice, you won’t see me out riding a bicycle. The last time I rode my bike, turning was harrowing, I tipped over every time I stopped, and I flipped over completely when Stephen (who was out in front) stopped to check on me. When I was a kid, I could ride like the wind with no protective gear whatsoever. Now I need protective covering over my entire body just to sit on a bicycle.

It wasn’t always this way. Not that many years (okay, quite a few), Stephen and I would ride our bikes with no protective gear and only occasional injuries (me, yes, it was invariably me). We even made it a family affair. Stephen built a small trailer out of a dog crate and attached it to the back of his bike for our dog, Tony. Then he strapped a small, homemade cage on top of the dog trailer for our parrot Amy.

I have no idea why Stephen is dressed so formally for bike riding

I have no idea why Stephen is dressed so formally for bike riding

For the safety of everyone, the animals never trailed my bike – only Stephen’s. Amy loved the rides, reverting back to her first word “hello” for the duration of the outing. Tony was another story – he would have rather run along side us versus being trapped in a little cage.

These days, we take the dogs for walks – no protective gear needed. Amy stays indoors where she feels safer.

Hope you enjoy your Spring!

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

Comments on: "Spring Activities" (4)

  1. OMG I love the family travel set-up, parrot and all! You’re making me feel a little better about the fact that about 10 years ago I was in CA for a couple weeks for business. I went to Santa Barbara for the weekend and decided to rent a bike. But…I kept falling. Like right outside the little bike shop. It was like I suddenly couldn’t ride a bike! And I thought it was supposed to be, you know, like riding a bike? You just hop on and good to go? It was very, very odd. I’ve not tried to ride one since and now I guess I really can’t afford to injure myself.

    • We are not alone in our inability to ride a bike. A few years ago I tried to go bike riding with a friend. After a few blocks I turned around and she wasn’t there. When I went back to find her, she was sitting on the curb waiting for me. As soon as she started riding, she went into a bush and decided the experience wasn’t for her. Live and learn – and since I prefer to live, I’ve learned not to ride bikes!

  2. Time goes by. I remember the days.

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

