True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

No Weigh!

Last week I went to a new doctor and the first thing the nurse did was ask me to weigh in. She didn’t mean my opinion but I gave it to her anyway.

Here’s what I said.

“Okay – the way I see it, this can go one of three ways.”

“One – I can step on that scale and you can record my actual weight.” (As I said it, I frowned and shook my head no.)

“Two – You can simply write down ‘too much’.” (Again, I frowned and shook my head no – reinforcing subliminal messaging.)

“Three – You can write whatever number I give you in exchange for a $10 Target gift card.” (I shook my head yes, smiled and winked.) (I had to up the ante because $5 didn’t work last time.)

Then I said: “I would think long and hard about this before you answer because there’s one option where we both win.” She laughed, paused like she was thinking about it, but in the end I had to step on the scale.

Dammit! Living in the suburbs of Chicago, I was sure bribery would work.

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

00722-funny-cartoons-scale

Comments on: "No Weigh!" (6)

  1. might have worked better on the bribery coast.

  2. It’s pretty sad that when I go to the doctor, I don’t care what they do to me as long as they don’t make me get on the damn scale!

  3. Loved that one, Pam! Mark

    >

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

