True, embellished and fictional stories for your amusertainment

Artistry

When Stephen and I were dating, his mom taught art classes. An excellent artist herself, Joan often said that anyone could learn to paint. As we were getting to know each other, Joan offered to teach me. I chose to paint a photograph of a barren landscape with a double rainbow. There was little detail increasing my confidence that I could paint a reasonable replica of the picture, especially with an expert like Joan helping me choose the colors. At the end of our lesson, I presented my masterpiece; it was terrible. From that point forward Joan changed her stance to almost anyone could learn to paint.

Through the years, I haven’t let my lack of ability hold me back. Following a visit to friend’s house, I tried to describe the layout to Stephen so I drew the floor plan. When I was finished with my description, Stephen looked at my drawing and started to laugh. He said it looked more like a monster than a home. He thought we should frame my “art” because it was brilliant.

Frankly, I think it looks like a mess but you can decide for yourself. I’m either terrible at drawing or a mad genius. If you think it’s the latter, watch for the original, signed drawing on ebay. I’m sure it’s going to draw a lot of interest. It will be a great investment as the value will only go up!

May the farce be with you!

Your IFF,

Pam

The work of a mad genius?

 

 

Comments on: "Artistry" (1)

  1. Wait – wait – (drawing you closer….like the spider to the fly…) I think this is the blueprint for a sculpture my daughter made out of wood blocks and markers when she was around 3.
    I knew it was too advanced to have come up with it on her own…much too sketchy.
    Jingle on!

I love it when you comment - it makes my day!

